JUMP TO:
  • Top Places
  • All
1 Rating
Recommended
+ Share On... Facebook Twitter

Zelo Gourmet Pizzeria

Map & Directions 328 E. Foothill Blvd.
Arcadia, CA 91006
FLAG
 
626-358-8298
  • Italian, Pizza
  • Sun 3pm-9pm, Mon 4pm-9pm, Tue-Thu 11:30am-9pm, Fri-Sat 11:30am-10pm
  • All Major Credit Cards
  • Catering, Family Style, Kid Friendly, Takeout
  • Dinner, Lunch
  • Beer/Wine
  • Reservations Not Accepted
  • Parking Lot Available, Street Parking

Description

LA Weekly's Description

Arcadia is kind of a conservative place, but Zelo distinctly is not. The music, played loud, ranges from surf tunes to vintage punk rock, Blue Oyster Cult to Built To Spill, and might as well have been plucked from the iPod of the coolest guy you know. But it’s all about the pizza here, and Zelo’s pizza is a different sort of pie, crust enriched with a little cornmeal, packed and crimped into a high-rimmed steel deep-dish pizza pan blackened from years in the ovens, and baked to a kind of high crunchiness. This rough and tasty cornmeal-crusted pizza was invented at Vicolo, Patty Unterman’s late quick-service pizza joint in San Francisco. Zelo chef Mike Freeman, who cooked for eight years at Vicolo, has taken this style and made it his own. A vegetarian pizza, available in both vegan and cheese-bearing versions, is piled with baked eggplant, roasted peppers and mushrooms. Even the plain-vanilla sausage pie is plumped out with marinated peppers, tomato chunks and sauteed onions. This may be the great, undiscovered Los Angeles pizza restaurant.

 
Member Reviews

  • anncoates wrote a review for Zelo Gourmet Pizzeria
    on 02/04/11
    4

    Zelo's pizza has a delicious corn meal crust and each slice of pie is very filling. The prices are $3.75 for a slice, $11 for half a pizza (3 slices), $21 for a whole pizza (6 slices). They have a huge variety of specialty pizzas and they have lunch specials from 3pm-4pm.

Your Review:

Your Rating:

 

 
Tips from foursquare

  • LA Weekly on 12/29/10

    Featured in LA Weekly's 99 Essential Restaurants!

  • Kelly B. on 10/20/11

    Corn Pizza with balsamic caramelized onions! It's almost too good (thought the crust is a bit dry)

  • Luis J. on 01/09/13

    The Spaghetti was incredibly delicious. Highly recommended!

  • Enrique d. on 03/10/10

    Potato pancetta pizza is awesome!!

  • Joe D. on 03/24/13

    Potato pancetta is off the hook

Check out Zelo Gourmet Pizzeria on Foursquare

 
Menu

More Pizza Restaurants in Los Angeles

See More Pizza Restaurants in Los Angeles

Reviews and News

advertisement

Today's Daily Deal

E-Cigarette Ultra Kit ($50 value) View more Voice Daily Deals

Events Nearby

  • Battledrum
    Sierra Madre Playhouse
    Saturdays, 7 p.m., Sundays, 2:30 p.m., Thursdays, 10 a.m., Fridays, 7 p.m., Tue., April 8, 1 p.m. and Fri., April 11, 10 a.m. Continues through April 18
  • Tartuffe
    A Noise Within
    Sat., Feb. 15, 8 p.m., Wed., Feb. 19, 8 p.m., Thu., Feb. 20, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Feb. 21, 8 p.m., Sat., Feb. 22, 8 p.m., Sun., Feb. 23, 2 p.m., Sat., March 1, 2 & 8 p.m., Sun., March 2, 2 p.m., Sun., March 23, 2 & 7 p.m., Thu., April 10, 7:30 p.m., Fri., April 18, 8 p.m., Sat., April 19, 8 p.m., Sun., April 20, 7 p.m., Fri., May 2, 8 p.m., Sun., May 18, 2 & 7 p.m., Fri., May 23, 8 p.m. and Sat., May 24, 2 & 8 p.m.
  • Seduction in Stone: Jean-Antoine Houdon's Bust of Madame de Vermenoux
    Huntington Library, Art Collections and Botanical Gardens
    Mondays, Wednesdays-Sundays. Continues through July 14
  • Lost and Found: The Secrets of Archimedes
    Huntington Library, Art Collections and Botanical Gardens
    Mondays, Wednesdays-Sundays. Continues through June 8
  • Remarkable Works, Remarkable Times: Highlights From the Huntington Library
    Huntington Library, Art Collections and Botanical Gardens
    Mondays, Wednesdays-Sundays
  • Everything You Touch
    Boston Court
    Thursdays-Saturdays, 8 p.m., Sundays, 2 p.m., Mon., April 21, 8 p.m., Wed., April 23, 8 p.m. and Wed., May 7, 8 p.m. Continues through May 11
  • See More Events

Italian Nearby

See More Italian
advertisement
Loading...