JUMP TO:
  • Top Places
  • All
0 Ratings
+ Share On... Facebook Twitter

Shanghai Bamboo House

Map & Directions 933 W. Duarte Road
Monrovia, CA 91016
FLAG
 
626-574-5960
  • Chinese
  • Sun, Tue-Sat 11am-9:30pm, Mon 5pm-9:30pm
  • MasterCard, Visa
  • Family Style, Takeout
  • Dinner, Lunch
  • Beer/Wine
  • Reservations Not Necessary
  • Parking Lot Available

Description

LA Weekly's Description

Some of the Shanghainese dining rooms in the San Gabriel Valley may be more ambitious than Shanghai Bamboo House, some of them less so, and the restaurant seems to have found its niche right in the middle: It's not luxurious, but your elbows don't stick to the tables; it's not unfriendly to outsiders, but you get the feeling that the customers mostly know one another; and you will often see people bringing in extremely expensive bottles of wine.

More to the point, although the restaurant specializes in a branch of cuisine known for sweetness, heaviness and generosity with oil, the Shanghai Bamboo House is light and graceful, balanced texturally, and fresh. You can get your enormous braised pig's knuckle, and sandy pot with chicken and chestnuts, and Jell-O-like braised sea slugs with shrimp roe, but the soul of the restaurant lies elsewhere - cold, boiled chicken that sings with salt and the gamy essence of the bird; ultralight braised tofu rolls stuffed with pork or shrimp; coins of cool, stuffed lotus root slicked with a wine sauce and stuffed with sticky rice. The braised squash with tiny sun-dried shrimp is luscious and light; the tureenful of "house special rice soup" seems almost without weight.

 
Member Reviews

No Reviews yet, leave the first one below!

Your Review:

Your Rating:

 

 
Tips from foursquare

  • Denise on 05/07/13

    Good xiao long bao, seaweed battered fried fish, yang zhou fried rice. The pork knuckle is massive and best shared with a table of 6+. Steer clear the crab dishes (skimpy meat) and tofu pot (bland).

  • Jen Y. on 10/29/13

    Skip this place. Go to Golden House in Arcadia.

  • Cristina B. on 10/24/10

    Best soup dumplings in LA. period.

  • richard y. on 03/24/10

    Don't get the pork knuckles

Check out Shanghai Bamboo House on Foursquare

More Chinese Restaurants in Los Angeles

See More Chinese Restaurants in Los Angeles

Reviews and News

advertisement

Today's Daily Deal

A deck of 57 $10 off cards to a hand-curated collection of LA's finest local restaurants ($500 value) View more Voice Daily Deals

Events Nearby

  • Arcadia Blues Club
    Sat., April 26, 8 p.m.
  • Arcadia Blues Club
    Fri., April 25, 8 p.m.
  • Macbeth
    A Noise Within
    Sat., March 15, 8 p.m., Sun., March 16, 2 p.m., Sat., March 22, 2 & 8 p.m., Fri., April 11, 8 p.m., Sat., April 12, 2 & 8 p.m., Thu., April 24, 7:30 p.m., Sun., April 27, 2 & 7 p.m., Sat., May 3, 2 & 8 p.m., Thu., May 8, 7:30 p.m., Fri., May 9, 8 p.m. and Sun., May 11, 2 & 7 p.m.
  • Come Back Little Sheba
    A Noise Within
    Sat., April 5, 8 p.m., Sun., April 6, 2 p.m., Sun., April 13, 2 & 7 p.m., Fri., April 25, 8 p.m., Sat., April 26, 2 & 8 p.m., Sun., May 4, 2 & 7 p.m., Sat., May 10, 2 & 8 p.m., Thu., May 15, 7:30 p.m., Fri., May 16, 8 p.m. and Sat., May 17, 8 p.m.
  • Jessica Seiter Niblo
    Crowell Public Library, City of San Marino
    Thu., April 24, 7 p.m.
  • Remarkable Works, Remarkable Times: Highlights From the Huntington Library
    Huntington Library, Art Collections and Botanical Gardens
    Mondays, Wednesdays-Sundays
  • See More Events

Chinese Nearby

See More Chinese
advertisement
Loading...