JUMP TO:
  • Top Places
  • All
0 Ratings
Recommended
+ Share On... Facebook Twitter

Janty Noodle

Map & Directions Hong Kong Plaza Food Court, 989 S. Glendora Ave.
West Covina, CA 91790
FLAG
 
626-480-1808
  • Asian, Chinese, Indonesian
  • Sun, Tue-Sat 10:30am-8pm
  • cash
  • Takeout
  • Dinner, Lunch
  • No Alcohol
  • Reservations Not Necessary
  • Parking Lot Available

Description

LA Weekly's Description

The food court may not seem a likely site for a culinary epiphany. You could look through every Smart & Final in the county without coming across plastic spoons as cheap and flimsy as the tableware here, but if you were to get your hands on an order of mie medan at Janty Noodle you might be inclined to disagree. Janty Noodle is the Hong Kong Plaza's specialist in Indonesian-style Chinese mie, dense, crinkly mats of egg noodles steamed with a little oil, some bean sprouts and a wad of fresh greens, then served with a few grams of chicken, piles of sliced mushrooms, or paper-thin shavings of barbecued pork and a peppery crumble of sauteed chicken in the version called mie medan, which is a pretty basic bowl of food but has the exact gummy texture and the exact sharply ripe funk of a dish you might find in a Southeast Asian hawker center around breakfast time. A foam container of clear broth is served alongside in case you feel like moistening the noodles; plates of utterly forgettable Indonesian fritters and fried won tons are available too.

 
Member Reviews

No Reviews yet, leave the first one below!

Your Review:

Your Rating:

 

More Asian Restaurants in Los Angeles

See More Asian Restaurants in Los Angeles

Reviews and News

advertisement

Today's Daily Deal

Two GA Tickets to Feenixpawl and Tom Staar at Create Nightclub ($40 value) View more Voice Daily Deals

Events Nearby

  • The J. Grizz Band
    Havana House Cigars & Lounge
    Sun., April 20, 8-11:45 p.m.
  • CocoPalm Restaurant
    Fridays, 10 p.m. Continues through May 30
  • Battledrum
    Sierra Madre Playhouse
    Saturdays, 7 p.m., Sundays, 2:30 p.m., Thursdays, 10 a.m., Fridays, 7 p.m., Tue., April 8, 1 p.m. and Fri., April 11, 10 a.m. Continues through April 18
  • Kayne Griffin Corcoran
    Tuesdays-Saturdays. Continues through May 3
  • Tartuffe
    A Noise Within
    Sat., Feb. 15, 8 p.m., Wed., Feb. 19, 8 p.m., Thu., Feb. 20, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Feb. 21, 8 p.m., Sat., Feb. 22, 8 p.m., Sun., Feb. 23, 2 p.m., Sat., March 1, 2 & 8 p.m., Sun., March 2, 2 p.m., Sun., March 23, 2 & 7 p.m., Thu., April 10, 7:30 p.m., Fri., April 18, 8 p.m., Sat., April 19, 8 p.m., Sun., April 20, 7 p.m., Fri., May 2, 8 p.m., Sun., May 18, 2 & 7 p.m., Fri., May 23, 8 p.m. and Sat., May 24, 2 & 8 p.m.
  • Macbeth
    A Noise Within
    Sat., March 15, 8 p.m., Sun., March 16, 2 p.m., Sat., March 22, 2 & 8 p.m., Fri., April 11, 8 p.m., Sat., April 12, 2 & 8 p.m., Thu., April 24, 7:30 p.m., Sun., April 27, 2 & 7 p.m., Sat., May 3, 2 & 8 p.m., Thu., May 8, 7:30 p.m., Fri., May 9, 8 p.m. and Sun., May 11, 2 & 7 p.m.
  • See More Events

Asian Nearby

See More Asian
advertisement
Loading...