JUMP TO:
  • Top Places
  • All
0 Ratings
+ Share On... Facebook Twitter

Chang's Garden

Map & Directions 627 W. Duarte Road
Arcadia, CA 91007
FLAG
 
626-445-0606
  • Asian, Chinese
  • Daily 11:30am-10pm
  • MasterCard, Visa
  • Private Party, Takeout
  • Dinner, Lunch
  • Beer/Wine
  • Reservations Accepted
  • Parking Lot Available

Description

LA Weekly's Description

An elegant Hangzhou-influenced restaurant headed by chef Henry Chang, whose restrained, earthy style became known to the local Chinese community at the old Juon Yuan in San Gabriel Square, Chang's Garden is well known both for its version of dong po pork, a dish favored by Chinese poets, and for the cooking's congeniality to wine. Novelist Nicole Mones has practically made a cottage industry out of Chang: She wrote about him in Gourmet, and his dish of pork ribs steamed in lotus leaves figures so prominently in her novel The Last Chinese Chef that it is practically a character of its own. And if you get a shot at the crisp rolled beef pancakes and candied lotus root stuffed with sticky rice, eel with yellow chives and whitefish fried into seaweed-enhanced beignets, you may become inspired too. There is a very nice simmered beef and tripe in chile oil, and splendid fresh Chinese bacon with garlic and chile. Vegetable dishes tend to be pretty good too. Try the pudding-like slabs of Japanese eggplant cooked down with garlic.

 
Member Reviews

No Reviews yet, leave the first one below!

Your Review:

Your Rating:

 

 
Tips from foursquare

  • LA Weekly on 12/29/10

    Featured on LA Weekly's 99 Essential Restaurants!

  • Bryan Y. on 06/11/10

    Fried green stuff is damn gooooood!

  • Jessica C. on 08/07/10

    Best chinese food I've ever had...

  • Rachel M. on 04/21/13

    Can't get dim sum at Din Tai Fun? Come here instead! Great authentic selection: amazing scallion pancakes, dumplings, and tofu.

  • Rebecca K. on 12/25/11

    The seaweed fried fish is amazingggg especially with the pepper on top!

Check out Chang's Garden on Foursquare

 
Menu

More Asian Restaurants in Los Angeles

See More Asian Restaurants in Los Angeles

Reviews and News

advertisement

Today's Daily Deal

A deck of 57 $10 off cards to a hand-curated collection of LA's finest local restaurants ($500 value) View more Voice Daily Deals

Events Nearby

  • Arcadia Blues Club
    Sat., April 26, 8 p.m.
  • Arcadia Blues Club
    Fri., April 25, 8 p.m.
  • Macbeth
    A Noise Within
    Sat., March 15, 8 p.m., Sun., March 16, 2 p.m., Sat., March 22, 2 & 8 p.m., Fri., April 11, 8 p.m., Sat., April 12, 2 & 8 p.m., Thu., April 24, 7:30 p.m., Sun., April 27, 2 & 7 p.m., Sat., May 3, 2 & 8 p.m., Thu., May 8, 7:30 p.m., Fri., May 9, 8 p.m. and Sun., May 11, 2 & 7 p.m.
  • Come Back Little Sheba
    A Noise Within
    Sat., April 5, 8 p.m., Sun., April 6, 2 p.m., Sun., April 13, 2 & 7 p.m., Fri., April 25, 8 p.m., Sat., April 26, 2 & 8 p.m., Sun., May 4, 2 & 7 p.m., Sat., May 10, 2 & 8 p.m., Thu., May 15, 7:30 p.m., Fri., May 16, 8 p.m. and Sat., May 17, 8 p.m.
  • Jessica Seiter Niblo
    Crowell Public Library, City of San Marino
    Thu., April 24, 7 p.m.
  • Seduction in Stone: Jean-Antoine Houdon's Bust of Madame de Vermenoux
    Huntington Library, Art Collections and Botanical Gardens
    Mondays, Wednesdays-Sundays. Continues through July 14
  • See More Events

Asian Nearby

See More Asian
advertisement
Loading...